Skip to content ↓
Burton Joyce Primary School

Burton Joyce Primary School


    At Burton Joyce Primary School the children enjoy a broad and balanced curriculum. Our approach is to teach using skills to enthuse and interest the children to make meaningful links between the subjects.  Where possible outside links, educational visits and experiential learning are planned for and take place. Each year group from Foundation (Reception) through to Year 6 has a new theme each term.

    The National Curriculum covers a range of subjects as follows;

             Core Subjects;

    • English
    • Mathematics
    • Science

      Foundation Subjects;

    • Art and Design
    • Computing
    • Design and Technology
    • Geography
    • History
    • Languages
    • Music
    • Physical Education

      PHSE (personal, social, economic and health education) is also taught through a variety of different ways including ‘SEAL’ (Social and emotional aspects of learning) days each half term.

      In addition to the above subjects, we focus on children’s spiritual, moral, social, and cultural development (SMSC) through enriching the curriculum in a variety of ways, including involvement in the local, national and international communities.

      Each year group has created an overview of the topics to be covered. Within each topic a range of skills will be taught and assessed in a variety of contexts.

      Foundation Curriculum

      Children in the Early Years Foundation Stage are taught using the EYFS Curriculum.

      EYFS is split into 7 areas of learning which split into prime and specific areas of


      The Prime areas are;

      * Communication and language

      * Physical development

      * Personal social and emotional development

      The specific areas are;

    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the World
    • Expressive arts and design

    Much of the learning is through play and first hand experiential learning, ensuring the children are able to begin the National Curriculum at the beginning of Key Stage One.